Charlotte Gender Neutral Bathrooms Proposed

unisex-toilet-32058_640

Imagine this scenario – while at your favorite Charlotte, NC restaurant your eight year old daughter tells you that she has to use the bathroom.  However when she opens the restroom door she notices that there are two adult men inside. Does this sound far fetched to you?

The scene above might be totally legitimate if a proposal in Charlotte is passed. The city of Charlotte, NC is voting on March 2 to pass a city ordinance which makes all public and private restrooms as gender neutral.  For example this would allow any man who says that he identifies as a woman to enter women’s restrooms.  In addition any private businesses who do not comply could be fined if they do not adhere to the ordinance.

“I cannot see why City Council would even consider this,”  says Franklin Graham, president of the Billy Graham Evangelistic Association said. “It is not only ridiculous, it’s unsafe”.

Frankin Graham is speaking out against the proposal which brings up many issues including safety from sexual predators. From billygraham.org:

“And it’s a concern that’s not unfounded in other parts of the country. At Evergreen College in Olympia, Washington, where a similar ordinance was passed, a 45-year-old man who identifies himself as a woman was seen naked—genitalia exposed—in the women’s locker room by girls as young as 6 years old (the locker room is shared with a high school swim team and a children’s swim academy).”

Charlotte City Council Contact Info

Mayor Dan Clodfelter

Telephone: 704-336-2241

mayor@charlottenc.gov

Mayor Pro Tem Michael D. Barnes

Telephone: 704-509-6141

barnesforcharlotte@gmail.com

Claire Green Fallon

Telephone: 704-336-6105

cfallon@charlottenc.gov

David Howard

Telephone: 704-336-4099

info@davidhowardclt.com

Vi Lyles

Telephone: 704-336-3431

vlyles@charlottenc.gov

Patsy B. Kinsey

Telephone: 704-336-3432

pkinsey@charlottenc.gov

Al Austin

Telephone: 704-336-3185

aaustin@charlottenc.gov

LaWana Mayfield

Telephone: 704-336-3435

lmayfield@charlottenc.gov

Gregory A. Phipps

Telephone: 704-336-3436

gaphipps@charlottenc.gov

John N. Autry

Telephone: 704-336-2777

jautry@charlottenc.gov

Kenny Smith

Telephone: 704-574-7241

krsmith@charlottenc.gov

Edmund H. Driggs

Telephone: 704-432-7077

ed@eddriggs.com

H/T Kathie P.

      
Plugin by: PHP Freelancer
This entry was posted in Editorial, Religion, Voter issues and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.
0 0 votes
Article Rating
1 Comment
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Bendix
Bendix
5 years ago

The guy leading the fight

In 1998, Sevearance worked as a youth minister and in that capacity allegedly lured younger men to his apartment to spend the night where Severance showed them pornography and tried to talk them into sex. One boy testified that he woke up to find Severance “fondling him.” Severance was convicted on one charge of sexual molestation of a minor.