GRNC Alert 7-22-13 Republicans Will be Held Responsible if HB 937 Fails!

The clock to adjournment is ticking…IT IS TIME TO BRING THE HEAT!

While the gun rights of North Carolinians hang in the balance, Republican leadership can’t stop playing political games. They are being manipulated by the competing misguided interests of the NC Sheriffs’ Association (NCSA) and NRA.

The political angst has reached the level that Rep. Jacqueline Schaffer has begun emailing accusations that GRNC is spreading “inaccurate information”. GRNC President Paul Valone quickly responded:

As I just told your legislative assistant, Sharon, I would love to know what is “inaccurate” about our reporting. My understanding was that to close what you yourself have called the “arming felons loophole,” sans repeal of all or part of the purchase permit statute, you suggested requiring NICS checks if purchase permits were older than 30 days. As we have said all along (and I have numerous positions issued to Republicans to this effect), punishing gun owners for the malfeasance of the North Carolina Sheriffs’ Association is unacceptable to us. So please, tell me what is “inaccurate,” before I am forced to report to 87,000 gun owners that it is actually you who is disseminating false information.“

It is time to stop the blame game and pandering to NCSA and NRA. These organizations didn’t elect the Assembly. You did. Have they forgotten who they represent?

Apparently they need another reminder. GRNC has set-up a “Pass HB 937” petition at http://grnc.org/pass-h937 that will help the politicians focus on the issue. Sign it, and pass along the link to your friends.

The Assembly is set to adjourn this Friday. We only have a few more days to instill sense in both the Assembly and Governor McCrory and get this bill passed.

We have fought for years for this progress. Failure IS NOT AN OPTION!

IMMEDIATE ACTION REQUIRED!

You need to do three things: 

  1. Call the three Republican leaders, Gov. McCrory, Speaker Tillis, President Pro Tempore Berger;
  2. Sign the petition and forward it to others; and
  3. Send the copy-and-paste message to all Republicans in the NC House and Senate 

MAKE SURE TO BOTH CALL AND EMAIL Sen. Berger, Speaker Tillis and Gov. McCrory. This is our last chance to make an impression. Let’s make it GOOD!

CONTACT INFORMATION

Speaker Thom Tillis, 919-733-3451, Email: Thom.Tillis@ncleg.net

Senate President Pro Tem Phil Berger, 919-733-5708, Email: Phil.Berger@ncleg.net

Gov. Pat McCrory, 919-814-2000, Email using BOTH this address governor.office@nc.gov AND the webpage athttp://www.governor.state.nc.us/contact/email-pat

Use the following cut-and-paste email list to contact NC House Republicans:

Dean.Arp@ncleg.net; Marilyn.Avila@ncleg.net; John.Bell@ncleg.net; Hugh.Blackwell@ncleg.net; Jamie.Boles@ncleg.net; Robert.Brawley@ncleg.net; Brian.Brown@ncleg.net; Rayne.Brown@ncleg.net; Rob.Bryan@ncleg.net; Dana.Bumgardner@ncleg.net; Justin.Burr@ncleg.net; Rick.Catlin@ncleg.net; George.Cleveland@ncleg.net; Jeff.Collins@ncleg.net; Debra.Conrad@ncleg.net; Leo.Daughtry@ncleg.net; Ted.Davis@ncleg.net; Jimmy.Dixon@ncleg.net; Josh.Dobson@ncleg.net; Jerry.Dockham@ncleg.net; Nelson.Dollar@ncleg.net; Jeffrey.Elmore@ncleg.net; John.Faircloth@ncleg.net; Jim.Fulghum@ncleg.net; Mike.Hager@ncleg.net; Jon.Hardister@ncleg.net; Kelly.Hastings@ncleg.net; Mark.Hollo@ncleg.net; Bryan.Holloway@ncleg.net; Craig.Horn@ncleg.net; Julia.Howard@ncleg.net; Pat.Hurley@ncleg.net; Frank.Iler@ncleg.net; Charles.Jeter@ncleg.net; Linda.Johnson2@ncleg.net; Bert.Jones@ncleg.net; Jonathan.Jordan@ncleg.net; Donny.Lambeth@ncleg.net; James.Langdon@ncleg.net; David.Lewis@ncleg.net; Chris.Malone@ncleg.net; Susan.Martin@ncleg.net; Pat.McElraft@ncleg.net; Chuck.McGrady@ncleg.net; Allen.McNeill@ncleg.net; Chris.Millis@ncleg.net; Tim.Moffitt@ncleg.net; Tim.Moore@ncleg.net; Tom.Murry@ncleg.net; Michele.Presnell@ncleg.net; Nathan.Ramsey@ncleg.net; Dennis.Riddell@ncleg.net; Stephen.Ross@ncleg.net; Jason.Saine@ncleg.net; Ruth.Samuelson@ncleg.net; Jacqueline.Schaffer@ncleg.net; Mitchell.Setzer@ncleg.net; Phil.Shepard@ncleg.net; Paul.Stam@ncleg.net; Edgar.Starnes@ncleg.net; Bob.Steinburg@ncleg.net; Sarah.Stevens@ncleg.net; Michael.Stone@ncleg.net; John.Szoka@ncleg.net; Thom.Tillis@ncleg.net; John.Torbett@ncleg.net; Rena.Turner@ncleg.net; Harry.Warren@ncleg.net; Andy.Wells@ncleg.net; Roger.West@ncleg.net; Chris.Whitmire@ncleg.net

Use the following cut-and-paste email list to contact NC Senate Republicans:

Austin.Allran@ncleg.net, Tom.Apodaca@ncleg.net, Chad.Barefoot@ncleg.net, Tamara.Barringer@ncleg.net, Phil.Berger@ncleg.net, Stan.Bingham@ncleg.net, Andrew.Brock@ncleg.net, Harry.Brown@ncleg.net, Peter.Brunstetter@ncleg.net, Bill.Cook@ncleg.net, David.Curtis@ncleg.net, Warren.Daniel@ncleg.net, Jim.Davis@ncleg.net, Thom.Goolsby@ncleg.net, Rick.Gunn@ncleg.net, Kathy.Harrington@ncleg.net, Fletcher.Hartsell@ncleg.net, Ralph.Hise@ncleg.net, Neal.Hunt@ncleg.net, Brent.Jackson@ncleg.net, Wesley.Meredith@ncleg.net, Buck.Newton@ncleg.net, Louis.Pate@ncleg.net, Ron.Rabin@ncleg.net, Bill.Rabon@ncleg.net, Shirley.Randleman@ncleg.net, Bob.Rucho@ncleg.net, Norman.Sanderson@ncleg.net, Dan.Soucek@ncleg.net, Jeff.Tarte@ncleg.net, Jerry.Tillman@ncleg.net, Tommy.Tucker@ncleg.net, Trudy.Wade@ncleg.net

DELIVER THIS MESSAGE

Suggested Subject: Republicans will be held responsible for failure of HB 937

Dear Speaker Tillis/President Pro Tem Phil Berger/Governor Pat McCrory/Representative/Senator:

NC gun owners have worked too hard for too long and have spent too much time and money supporting politicians claiming to be pro-Second Amendment. If HB 937, the omnibus gun bill, fails to be passed into law we will hold you responsible.

You need to make sure this bill leaves the conference committee and is signed by Gov. McCrory. We’ve had enough of the political games. HB 937 must be signed into law this year or there will be a price to be paid during the next election.

You owe this to NC gun owners who are largely responsible for your election. Do not disappoint us.

I will be following progress through Grass Roots North Carolina legislative alerts.

Respectfully,

      
Plugin by: PHP Freelancer
This entry was posted in 2nd Amendment, Editorial and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to GRNC Alert 7-22-13 Republicans Will be Held Responsible if HB 937 Fails!

  1. Hans says:

    The political games are nearly insufferable. I had the following exchange with Rep. Schaffer just prior to GRNC issuing the ALERT above.

    ********

    From: Rep. Jacqueline Schaffer [mailto:Jacqueline.Schaffer@ncleg.net]
    Sent: Monday, July 22, 2013 5:03 PM
    To: ‘Hans Mentha’
    Cc: pres@grnc.org
    Subject: RE: Apparently you haven’t been paying attention !

    Dear Mr. Mentha,

    Thank you very much for your email and your support of HB 937. As the lead sponsor of the bill, please allow me to reassure you concerning our good faith efforts in conference committee. Unfortunately, there is inaccurate information that has been circulated by Grass Roots North Carolina concerning the conference committee discussions, particularly with regards to the pistol permit section of the bill. As you know, we are currently working on reaching a consensus on how to approach these very important issues. As with any discussion that seeks resolution to a problem, many different ideas have been offered during our conversations in an effort to achieve that end. In any case, please rest assured that the House remains committed – as we have been from the beginning of this process – to passing a bill that properly protects the 2nd Amendment rights of lawful gun owners and that is supported by all sides of the issue.

    Thanks for writing. Please let me know if you have further questions or concerns.

    Kindest regards,

    Rep. Jacqueline M. Schaffer
    N.C. House District 105, Mecklenburg County

    ********

    Representative Schaffer --

    As a spectator to the NC political process, I have extremely limited access to conversations or transcripts from which I can ascertain the veracity of your claims of good faith efforts and your allegations regarding mis-information spread by GRNC.

    It has been my lifetime experience that the political process of either Party tends to obfuscate rather than clarify. Similarly, I find that watchdog agents such as GRNC find and expose kernels truth. Not always the whole truth, but more truth than the politician desires.

    Until such time that I am privy to your inner thoughts, I will be at best your skeptic.

    Now, with regard to your use of the term “consensus” (An opinion or position reached by a group as a whole) in your reply below. Our form of government in these united States is Constitutional Republic, not democracy, and this Constitution guarantees each member state will also be a Republic.

    The “opinion or position” of the members on your committee are irrelevant with regard to recognition and preservation of certain unalienable Rights of men. No statute or ordinance which seeks to infringe upon an unalienable Right has force in law. Read the founders’ “opinions”. Rights are absolute, privileges are subject to condition. My right of self defense is NOT a privilege subject to your regulation.

    The skeptic in me fears that you use the word “consensus” when in fact you mean “compromise”, obscuring the actual process at work in your committee: a settlement of differences by arbitration or by consent reached by mutual concessions, including persons who wish to restrict the right to keep and bear arms. My rights are not subject to negotiated concessions.

    Life, liberty and private property were acknowledged at our founding as inviolate. My right to defend my life, my choice of tools for that purpose, and my access to those tools, is subject neither to the consensus of your committee nor to a compromise with people who wish to restrict my access.

    In the minds of patriots and free men, the goal of HB 937 is to repeal all infringements and all restrictions in prior law “malum prohibitum”.

    Repeal is what we expect of you. Not consensus. Not compromise. Simply REPEAL the infringements upon our Rightful Liberty.

    Best Regards,
    Hans Mentha

    Rightful Liberty is unobstructed action according to our will
    within limits drawn around us by the equal rights of others.
    ~ Thomas Jefferson

Comments are closed.