Obama’s Top Spiritual Adviser Jim Wallis, Does Not Even Know the Ten Commandments

Jim Wallis is the top spiritual adviser to president Obama. The following statement is his response to an ad supporting Israel:

“The second of The Ten Commandments is ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.’ It didn’t come with stipulations. It didn’t come with extra addendums, with added qualifiers. Christians around the world need to put that into action as often as we can, especially where we see hatred like this.”

“Everyone – regardless of race, religion, or creed – deserves to feel welcomed and safe when riding public transit in America. With tensions across the world at an all-time high, the Christian community is doing what it can to promote non-violence in their own backyard, and this addition of subway ads to an ongoing billboard campaign only reinforces the Christian call to peace.”

Here is the King James version of the 2nd commandment:

2. Thou shalt not make unto thee any graven image, or any likeness of any thing that is in heaven above, or that is in the earth beneath, or that is in the water under the earth. Thou shalt not bow down thyself to them, nor serve them: for I the Lord thy God am a jealous God, visiting the iniquity of the fathers upon the children unto the third and fourth generation of them that hate me; And shewing mercy unto thousands of them that love me, and keep my commandments.

While he confused the teachings of Jesus with the ten commandments, I do not think he confused his allegiance to “The One”.  When did supporting Israel and not supporting Islamic Holy War (Jihad) become hate in the eyes of the Lord?

David DeGerolamo

Plugin by: PHP Freelancer
This entry was posted in Editorial, Religion and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.
0 0 votes
Article Rating
1 Comment
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Gary Douglas - Access
9 years ago

The 10 commandments are biblical laws. They include instructions to worship only God and to keep the sabbath, and have prohibitions against idolatry, blasphemy, murder, theft, and adultery.